New Jersey Class 1 REC Eligibility for New Jersey Solar Facilities

All RECs registered in GATS from solar and wind facilities in PJM installed after January 1, 2003 can be used for New Jersey Class 1 compliance. Also, New Jersey Solar facilities that have outlived their SREC qualification of 15 years (or 10 years if the SRP registration for the solar project was filed on or before October 29, 2018) qualify as Class 1 RECs. These can be purchased by energy companies to satisfy their class 1 compliance. The life of the Class 1 rec is three energy years. Energy years run June to May. Compliance is done in the fall of each year.

How do I sell my Class 1 RECs?

If your New Jersey solar facility no longer qualifies for SRECs you can sell them as Class 1 RECs on Flett Exchange. It is the same process as you did with your SRECs except you sell them on the Class 1 market of Flett Exchange. If you have an account with Flett Exchange you can transfer them on GATS to the Flett Exchange account. Enter the Class 1 sell-now price published on the homepage. We will process the trade, email you a confirmation and issue payment the next day. 

New Jersey Class 1 REC Value

The range for Class 1 RECs in New Jersey is $0 to $50. $50 is the Alternative Compliance Payment (ACP), or fine, that energy companies in New Jersey have to pay if they do not procure enough Class 1 RECs. The value for Class 1 RECs is $30 at the beginning of 2024 and is expected to move up to the $40 to $45 levels during the 2025 to 2030 timeframe. This rise is expected because New Jersey law requires energy companies to either produce more renewable energy or buy more Class 1 RECs in the coming years. 

New JerseyPress ReleasesSRECResearchSolarNJ Class 1